Los Angeles Domestic Violence Defense Lawyer
Upset woman about to slap her partner the living room

Los Angeles Domestic Violence Defense Lawyer

Los Angeles Domestic Violence Lawyer Experienced Los Angeles domestic violence defense lawyer, R. J. Manuelian has been successful in representing clients arrested or charged with domestic violence in California. Per California Penal Code Section 273.5(a) PC, it is illegal to injure a spouse, cohabitant or fellow parent in an act of domestic violence. This offense is also referred to as domestic abuse, domestic violence, or corporal injury to a spouse. Penalties for violating California domestic violence laws vary depending on the defendant's previous criminal record and the seriousness of the injuries to a partner. Under California’s Three Strikes law cases of domestic violence which involve extreme injuries can qualify as a "strike" and this conviction can be used to enhance penalties for future offenses. Domestic Violence Allegation Requires the Assistance of an Experienced Domestic Violence Defense Attorney Domestic violence allegations are serious and can land you in court even if the alleged victim recants a previous statement…

Continue Reading
California Misdemeanor Criminal Justice Process
lawyer judge reading documents at desk in courtroom.

California Misdemeanor Criminal Justice Process

Criminal Justice Process: Misdemeanor Charges Misdemeanors are offenses generally punishable jail, county jail, and or fines. On the other hand, felonies are generally punishable by imprisonment in the State prison and/or fines, or in serious murder charges, if special circumstances apply, punishment may include the death penalty. In Los Angeles misdemeanor cases, the Court conducts arraignments where the defendant/accused individual is informed of the specific charges against him/her and are advised of their rights. The Court holds preliminary hearings on felony charges to determine if there is sufficient evidence to require a defendant to stand trial. What Occurs in a Misdemeanor Case? California misdemeanor charges are primarily offenses and hold a maximum punishment of a $1,000 fines and a county jail term of 1 year or less. However, sometimes depending on your misdemeanor charges, your punishment, if foun d guilty, can carry a higher maximum fine.…

Continue Reading