California Domestic Violence PC 273.5 Penalties
Upset woman about to slap her partner the living room

California Domestic Violence PC 273.5 Penalties

California Domestic Violence Penalties According to California Penal Code, it is illegal to use physical force or threaten to harm an intimate partner. Penalties for violating California domestic violence laws vary depending on the defendant’s previous criminal record and the seriousness of the injuries to a partner. Most counties, though, have a minimum 30-day jail sentence even if the incident is a first-time misdemeanor conviction. In addition, defendants who are convicted of domestic violence are typically required to participate in a 52-week domestic abuser class. The worst part of a domestic violence conviction is the taint the conviction puts on your criminal record that could have negative consequences when you try to gain employment, obtain state licensing, or apply for housing loans. Legal Defenses to Domestic Violence Charges PC 273.5 There are number of legal defenses to domestic violence charges pursuant to PC 273.5. The most common…

Continue Reading

Compton Rival Gang Members Charged with Murder of 3 Year Old

Compton Rival Gang Members Charged with The Murder of 3-Year Old Boy The Compton murder of a 3-year-old boy who was killed in a shootout that took place in a Compton liquor store parking lot between to rival gang members. Allegedly, Harris' girlfriend and her 3-year-old son Franklin were inside that car were the shooting took place. According to ABC 7 news, the Los Angeles County District Attorney's Office announced charges against Dwayne Ward, 30, and Kevaughn Harris, 27 , two rival gang members on Friday. Both Ward and Harris were each charged with one count of murder, shooting at an occupied motor vehicle and possession of a firearm by a felony. If convicted as charged, Ward and Harris face a possible maximum sentence of life in prison. According to PC 187, the California law governing the crime of murder, murder is defined as “the unlawful…

Continue Reading

Anaheim Teen Altercation with Off-Duty LAPD Officer: No Charges Filled

No Charges Filled By Anaheim Prosecutors Against Off-Duty LAPD Officer During a Wednesday news conference, Anaheim prosecutors stated, "they were unable to prove beyond a reasonable doubt that Ferguson didn’t have the right to detain the 13-year-old as part of a citizen’s arrest, or that the officer used excessive force", according to the Orange County Register. Los Angeles criminal defense attorney R.J. Manuelian, representing 13-year-old Christian Dorscht pro bono following an altercation in Anaheim with an off-duty Los Angeles police officer. Los Angeles criminal defense attorney, R.J. Manuelian will be discussing the case on KTLA between 3-4pm on January 24, 2018. Per statement to scpr.com, criminal defense attorney R.J. Manuelian, said "he thinks Ferguson would’ve been charged if he hadn’t been a cop. It sends a message that rogue officers will get a pass while good citizens come in last". In an interview with the Los Angeles Times,…

Continue Reading

Gang Enhancement Law Penal Code Section 186.22 PC

Criminal Street Gang Enhancement Law Penal Code Section 186.22 PC California Criminal Street Gang Enhancement Law under Penal Code Section 186.22 PC states that anyone who is convicted of a felony committed for the benefit of, at the direction of, or in association with any criminal street gang with the intent to promote, further or assist in any criminal conduct by gang members shall, upon conviction, also be sentenced as follows: By an additional two, three or four years at the discretion of the Judge; If the felony is a serious felony, by an additional 5 years; If the felony is a violent felony, by an additional 10 years; What is Considered a Serious and Violent Felony? Serious and violent felonies include, but not limited to murder, manslaughter, use of a firearm, robbery, bank robbery, victim or witness intimidation, certain drug offenses and crimes against…

Continue Reading
Call Now